Bartok & Stravinsky

Friday, May 17, 2019 8:00PM
Miller Auditorium

Bartok & Stravinsky

Machine, by Pulitzer Prize winning composer, Jennifer Higdon, opens our final Symphonic Series concert, followed by former KSO Concertmaster, Susie Park, performing Bartók’s Violin Concerto No. 2. Edgy, intense and exhilarating, Igor Stravinsky's Rite of Spring closes season 98.

Susie Park, Violin

  HIGDON     Machine (2002)

  BARTÓK      Violin Concerto No. 2, BB. 117
       Allegro non troppo
       Theme and Variations: Andante tranquillo
       Rondo: Allegro molto
         Susie Park, violin


  STRAVINSKY     Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)
       PART I: Adoration of the Earth
       The Augurs of Spring – Dances of the Young Girls
       Ritual of Abduction
       Spring Rounds
       Ritual of the Rival Tribes
       Procession of the Sage
       The Sage
       Dance of the Earth
       PART II: The Sacrifice
       Mystic Circle of the Young Girls
       Glorification of the Chosen One
       Evocation of the Ancestors
       Ritual Action of the Ancestors
       Sacrificial Dance (The Chosen One)